2025 Individual Wrestling Championships

GREENSBORO – The North Carolina High School Athletic Association's Individual Wrestling Championships ended on Monday night at the First Horizon Coliseum. Seaforth, Union Pines and Davie County all earned their second team championship in a row.

Jack Britt claimed the Women's Championship and Mount Airy won the 1A Team Title.

In the Women's Championship, Jack Britt scored 101 points, six points clear of Hoke County in second place. They were led by Isabella Hernandez (126), Sumaiya Aamoud (138) and Sophia Ozanich (165) who each won their weight classes on Monday night.

2025 marked just the second year of the Women's Wrestling Championships. Jack Britt finished second in 2024. Hoke County, the 2025 runner-up, took fourth in the first edition of the Championship.

Weddington's Breanna D'Leon won her second state championship this year and was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for her performance in the 144-pound weight class.

In the 1A Classification, Mount Airy dominated on the team scoreboard with 147.5 points, 35 points ahead of runner-up Uwharrie Charter. The Granite Bears' Andrew Meadows (175) and Joseph Jones (144) both took first place in their weight classes and four more Granite Bears – Alex Spainhour (138), Jack Martin (150), John Martin (165) and Aaron Ruiz-Angel (215) – finished as runner-up.

It is the first Championship for Mount Airy.

Avery County, which finished in third place, saw two wrestlers win their third NCHSAA Championship. Cooper Foster won at 120 and Cale Dunn, who was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler, won at 190. Kenneth Pritz also won his weight class for the Vikings and is now a two-time NCHSAA Champion.

In the 2A Classification, Seaforth took the top spot for the second year in a row, avenging their narrow defeat in the Dual Team Championships two weeks ago. The Hawks finished with 149 points, seven more than Trinity. Seaforth saw three state championship performances as Jordan Miller (113), Gabe Rogers (120) and Layne Armstrong (132) all won their weight classes. Armstrong is now a two-time state champion.

R-S Central, which finished in fifth, was led by Caleb Cox, as he won all four of his matches by technical fall or pin to win the 157-pound weight class. He finished the year 59-1. Cox was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler.

In the 3A Classification, Union Pines completed the wrestling double as they capped their 2025 Dual Team Championship with a team title at the Individual Championships. The Vikings were led by three State Champions – Liam Myles (106), Dominic Blue (175) and Brock Sullivan (190). Sullivan, who was the MVP at the Dual Team Championships, is now a two-time NCHSAA Champion.

Pisgah's Kane Bryson was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler as he won each of his matches by pin or tech fall. He finished the year 63-1.

In the 4A Classification, Davie County took the top spot for the second year in a row thanks to four runner-up finishes and two fifth-place finishes. Aiden Szewczyk (120), Cayden Glass (126), Tiaj Thao (132) and Elliot Gould (150) all finished in second place in their class.

It is the third title for Davie.

Panther Creek's Sebastian Rivera won the 285-pound class with a major decision, an overtime win (in the semis) and two pins to finish the season 39-0. He was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler in the 4A Championship.

Three-Time State Champions

Cale Dunn, Avery County Cooper Foster, Avery County Lorenzo Austin, Uwharrie Charter Bentley Sly, Stuart Cramer

Two-Time State Champions

Kenneth Pritz, Avery County Andrew Meadows, Mount Airy Colton Campbell, Hickory Ridge Xavier Wilson, Eastern Guilford Brock Sullivan, Union Pines Trevquan Gary, Person Ty Johnson, Cape Fear Layne Armstong, Seaforth Liam Hickey, Cardinal Gibbons Breanna D'Leon, Weddington Elijah Horton, Morehead Ryan Mann, NECP Boedi Kirkland, NECP

WUITCH'S TEATH LEAUERS	Women's	Team	Leaders
------------------------	---------	------	---------

1 Jack Britt	101.0
2 Hoke County	95.5
3 Laney	89.5
4 Rosewood	58.0
5 Havelock	56.5

1A Men's Team Leaders		2A Men's Team Leaders	
1 Mount Airy High School	147.5	1 Seaforth	149.0
2 Uwharrie Charter Academy	112.5	2 Trinity	142.0
3 Avery County High School	98.5	3 Morehead	92.5
4 Robbinsville High School	70.0	4 Mt Pleasant	87.0
5 Alleghany High School	62.5	5 R-S Central	84.0
3A Men's Team Leaders		4A Men's Team Leaders	
1 Union Pines	134.0	1 Davie	110.0
2 Dudley	82.0	2 Hough	106.5
3 St. Stephens	66.0	3 Hickory Ridge	106.0
4 Eastern Guilford	65.5	4 Lumberton	89.0
5 White Oak	61.0	5 Cardinal Gibbons	84.0